Elf on the Shelf has arrived!

Yesterday my dad came to visit, and he brought my girls an Elf on the Shelf. I had seen them before, but wasn’t really sure what to do with it. I was a little hesitant at first, but after googling for a bit, I warmed up to it, and got a few ideas of my own. On the first night our elf, Sparky (a girl), wrote on our bathroom mirror with red marker. She wrote, “14 Days until Christmas, you better be nice!”. I placed Sparky on a little shelf holding the marker. My six year old looked at it and said, “Wait, who wrote that? Was it you?”. I replied with, “I don’t know, I didn’t do it. I guess she did, she’s got the marker.” Usually I’m horrible at lying, and keeping a straight face. But it helped that I had just woken up (I’m grumpy before coffee) and I was also helping my 2 year old onto the toilet. They both thought it was awesome. Of course then Kiley Lou (6 yr old) had to reach out and try to touch the marker. Her reasoning, “I wasn’t touching the elf, just the marker!”. She is the type of child who has to touch EVERYTHING. I have a feeling our elf will lose its magic. Luckily, my step mom told me that sprinkling cinnamon around her gives the elf it’s magic back. Seeing as how ours is a girl, I thought tonight “Sparky” would make herself a skirt. I will be making a little tutorial about that in my next blog. I’ve seen online that a lot of elves are mischievous and do bad things. However, I don’t really agree with that. If this elf is supposed to be making sure my girls are good, then why is she allowed to be bad? Our elf is going to set a good example, and not give my girls any ideas on how to misbehave. They already know how to do that well enough on their own.

20121211-103716.jpg

Leave a Reply

