DIY Chalkboard

I have to admit, I stole this chalkboard idea from my neighbor, who is also a fellow do-it-yourself mom. It’s really easy to make, and only a few supplies are needed. First, pick out the frame you want to use. I used an old wooden frame that I bought at a thrift store for $1. If the glass is still there, remove it. Get a piece of plywood (the smoother the better) and paint it with chalkboard paint. You can buy this at Home Depot or other paint/hardware stores. I used spray paint, which I thought would be easier. Paint at least 3 coats onto the plywood. Once that’s dry, use wood glue to adhere it to the frame. It’s better if it is glued onto the back of the frame so that it is not flush with the frame. You want to have a little space so the chalk dust will fall into the frame, and not onto your floor. After you glue, either clamp it, or put something heavy on top to keep it together until the glue dries, which is usually about 30 minutes. Wait 24 hours from the time of your last paint coat, then rub a piece of chalk all over the board, and its finished! In general, I use mine to write the list of activities and appointments for the week, and it’s hung by my front door. For Thanksgiving, I glued on some hand turkeys with quotes, and made it our menu for the feast.

20121124-074448.jpg

2 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboard

Leave a Reply

