Monster High Patch free crochet pattern

A friend of my daughters loves Monster High and I wanted to crochet something for her. I found a few things online, but not what I wanted. So I made up my own pattern and now I’m sharing it with you all! This is a patch that I will be adding to a military style cap, but it could be used on pretty much anything (i.e. leg warmers, scarf, purse). If you have any questions, please message me or comment below. I would love to see others finished project, so please share!!!

You may sell any item you make from my patterns, but please do not sell the pattern!

You can find this patch along with many other crochet items in my Facebook shop, Knit Whitt

Materials:
-black, pink and white worsted weight yarn
-US H/5.00 MM hook
-US 1/2.35 MM hook
-needle for weaving in ends and attaching bow

-Base circle
With black and H hook:
Round 1: 12 hdc in magic circle, ss to top of first hdc. Ch 1
Round 2: hdc in same st as ch, 2 hdc in each st around, sl st to top if first hdc. Ch. 1
Round 3: hdc in same st as ch, * hdc in next st, 2 hdc in next st *, repeat around from *, sl st to top of first hdc.
Leave a long tail to sew onto hat

Skull:
These directions may be a little hard to understand, but I will do my best to explain. I did what is called an embroidery crochet stitch. I thought it would look better than crocheting a skull and sewing it onto the black circle. You can google how to do it if my explanation is too confusing! With the US 1/2.35 mm hook, start with white yarn underneath black circle and stick the needle through the black yarn to pull up a loop of the white yarn. Keeping the loop on the hook, put your hook through the next spot where you want your stitch to be, and pull up another loop. Continue to do this around until you get the outline of the skull. Slip stitch to the first white loop. Now continue this chain stitch method, going back and forth to fill in the outline.
I used a long piece of black yarn and did the same chain stitch embroidery to make two squarish eyes, tie off, don’t cut. I used my needle and the yarn that was used for the eye to make the 2 eyelashes because I thought the chain stitches were too thick. Weave the yarn under the stitches (of the back side) until its in the right spot of the eye, then make 2 eyelashes. I also just used the needle to make a somewhat misshapen triangle for the nose.

Bow:
hook size US 1/2.35 mm
pink worsted weight yarn
Ch 10
Row 1: hdc in 2nd ch from hook, sc in each st across. Ch 1, turn
Row 2: hdc in each st across, ch 1 and turn
Row 3: hdc across, ch 1, sc around entire bow and sl st to first sc. Tie off leaving long tail to sew onto patch.
In the center of the bow, wrap yarn about 10 times and tie off. I find it better to sew the bow on all the way around, instead of just in the middle, that way it doesn’t curl up.

20130222-193225.jpg

2 thoughts on “Monster High Patch free crochet pattern

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

