Free Ninja Turtle Hat Crochet Pattern

When I was a little girl, I LOVED Ninja Turtles! I had all the action figures, and even dressed up as one for Halloween (my mom made the coolest costumes!). I think it’s awesome that they’ve made a comeback, but I’m not too happy with their new look 😕. Anyways, I decided I had to crochet a hat, but couldn’t find a free pattern online. So I made up my own, and now I’m sharing with you! I hope you enjoy, and let me know if you have any questions!

P.S. I’d love to see your finished hats!

If you’d love to buy this awesome hat, head over to my shop

You may sell what you make from this pattern, but please do not sell the pattern itself! If you sell items online, I ask that you please link back to the pattern :)

Materials:
Worsted weight yarn in green and any color you want for the mask
Small amount of white and black yarn for the eyes
H hook for toddler size (18-20 inches)
I hook for child size (19-20 1/2 inches)
Yarn needle for attaching eyes and weaving in the ends

***UPDATED May 2014***
I have had a few comments (and even some complaints!) about the size. I adjusted the pattern so hopefully that won’t be a problem. You can also use any basic beanie pattern and change colors when needed to make the mask. I am more than willing to help those who need it in the best way I can. You may email directly at knitwhitt27@yahoo.com.

with green
Round 1: 12 DC in magic ring, slip st to top of first DC
Round 2: ch 2, 2 DC in each st around, sl st to top first DC
Round 3: ch 2, *2 DC in next st, 1 DC in the next st*, repeat around from *. Sl st to beginning
Round 4: ch 2, DC in next st, *2 DC in next st, DC in next 2 sts*, repeat around from *. Sl st to beginning
Round 5: ch 2, DC in next st, *2 DC in next st, DC in next 3 stitches, sl st to beginning

switch to orange (or other color for the mask), sl st to hat in the last rows ch 2

Round 6-9: ch 2, DC in each st around, sl st to beginning

Switch back to green, sl st in ch of last row

Round 10-14: ch 2, DC in each st around, sl st to beginning

Tie off and weave in ends

Back ties (make 2) with orange
Row 1: Ch 8, sc in 2nd ch from hook. Hdc, in next st, DC, tr crochet, DC, hdc, sc.
Row 2: Ch 3, repeat row 1 across other side. Slip stitch in last chain.
Row 3: Ch 1, sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next 4, sc in next 2, sl st in next stitch.
Row 4: Ch 2, working on other side, sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next 4, sc in next 2, sl st in next st.
Row 5: sc in each stitch across. Sc and sl st into last st. Chain 2, sc in next st on other side, sc in each stitch across. Sc and sl st in last stitch.
Tie off and weave in ends. Leave a long enough tail to attach to back center of hat. I sewed them together first, slightly overlapping each other, then attached them to the hat.

Eyes:
With white, make 2
Row 1: 6 sc in magic circle, pull tight to form half circle.
Row 2: ch 1, turn, DC in next 2 st, 2 DC in next 2 sts, DC in next 2, ch 1.
Row 3: sc across flat part of half circle, sl st at the end. Tie off and leave long tail to sew onto hat

With black, make 2
6 sc into magic circle, pull tight and sl st to first sc. Tie off and weave in ends.

Attach each black pupil to the white piece, but make sure they don’t look cross eyed! Sew the eyes to the hat.

20130205-095429.jpg

20130205-095504.jpg

20130205-095511.jpg

20130205-095518.jpg

91 thoughts on “Free Ninja Turtle Hat Crochet Pattern

    • I am working on this hat. I’m 71 and DO NOT have a clue what this craze is about Ninja Turtles! LOL! But I’m certain I will find some little one that will like it. Just wanted to say THANKS – ENJOY YOUR blog! :). Hugs, Gin

  1. I love this! My son loves Ninja Turtles, as did I as a kid. I, too, am not a fan of their new look. I’m new at crocheting, and this ill be my first hat attempt. What material yarn did you use? Thanks so much! :)

    • Sorry about that!!! I corrected the pattern, so it makes sense now :) (i hope). Round 6 is when you start with the orange. This was one of my first patterns, so please excuse the mistakes! Let me know if you find any more.

  2. Is this an adult or child hat, I wanna make one for my 18yr old nephew who looooooooooooooooovvvveeesss Donatello

    • This is supposed yo be child size, but it actually fit me too. I don’t have one with me to measure, but I think it was 21 inches around and 7 inches down. You could try it with a larger hook size.

    • If you add an extra row of green increases it will fit an adult for sure. Between row 4 and 5 you could add a row where you do *2 DC in first stitch then 1 DC in the next 3 stitches* and repeat from *
      You can increase as much as you need by keeping the same flow as adding 1 DC, IE: If you needed another row of increases you’d do *2DC in first stitch and 1 in the next 4 stitches and repeat from * again.
      I’ve seen hats with smaller hooks increase up to 7-8. Hope this helps and isn’t too confusing! :)

  3. Pingback: Featured Friday (#3)- Whittymomma | Simply Knots

  4. I am so enjoying this pattern…I have made 10 hats so far they are a huge hit…Have had requests for adult size….I am thinking if I do 1 extra increase row in the first 5 rows..and 2 rows of DC before I change color and put one extra color row and one extra green row on bottom half of hat……What are your thoughts or anyones thoughts on this?? Also I have found that when doing the eyes it works better for me to CH 9 instead of the 8 as pattern says…Thanks so much for sharing your pattern!!!

    • Could you tell me what size hook you have been using for adult hats? I’m currently using J but not sure I’m liking how loose stitches are looking. Thanks!

      • I’m not sure exactly how big you want it, but for an adult hat with an I hook this is what I do. In round 5, (2 dc, dc in next 3, repeat around). In round 6, (2 dc, dc in next 6) repeat around. You may be able to get by without the extra increase in 6, it depends on the size you need and the crocheter. I hope this helped, and wasn’t too confusing!

  5. I’m having difficulty getting the eyes right for this hat. Do you have some kind of tutorial or something that I can look at to help me out. They look off (not cross eyed) just like i did something wrong. I can’t quite get the half moon shape thing down :/

  6. Thank you! It actually wasn’t your instructions. I think my hook bust be smaller than what you used so the white was too small. So I sc 12 instead and it looks much better.

  7. I just made this hat for my 3 year old. He won’t take it off!!! I have a couple requests now for 1 year olds. What do you suggest I do to make the hat smaller? I am using fairly thick wool to keep their little heads warm in the winter. Thank you very much for posting a pattern!!!

  8. Pingback: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Crochet Hat (free pattern) |

  9. I’m very new to crocheting, but thought I would try my hand at this hat. I’m having trouble reading your pattern, because I am so new to all of this. Do you think this is too advanced for a beginner like me? I would hate to pay someone to make this if I could figure it out somehow. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I’m sorry to be a bother, but I thought I would ask and see whet someone with knowledge of all this thought. Thanks in advance.

  10. Thank you for showing us the pattern on how to do these awesome hats! My boyfriend nephew loves the ninja turtles! Can’t wait to give him one for Christmas!

  11. I know how I crochet and I’m starting with a “G” hook – otherwise my girl won’t wear her hat until she’s old…like me :D Everything I do has to be done one or two hooks down. I just crochet weird I guess :D

  12. Made one for my nephew. I added one more row of increase to the green and crab stitch edging. Probably making one for his brother tomorrow. My daughter modeled for the pictures.

  13. Hi l am wondering when l follow your pattern to exact it always comes out to small and l don’t know how or where to increase my rows! I need one for a five yr old and seven yr old if you could help me out that would be great thanks sometimesoon l am making them for Christmas and they ended up flopping:-( so this would be really helpful thank you:-)

    • That was the problem, and it’s my fault! I missed a row when I was typing up the pattern. I edited the pattern so its right now (I hope). I’m sorry, I hope it works for you now!

  14. Using your pattern for reference, I made three awesome hats. Because we live in Alaska, I worked with two strands of yarn. They turned out great and will be usable in the below zero temps. Very cute…thanks!!!

  15. I’m not the best at circular patterns, I’m better at straight back and forth, so I would love to know what the stitch count is supposed to be at the end of each round. Or even just the first few rounds, so I know I’m doing it as written. There’s a little boy who is about to be five who will love it no matter what, it’s more for me wanting to do it right.

  16. I’ve made 4 so far! they come together so easily! I work on them in the car while waiting to pick up my daughter from school. I made one for a cousin and one for my daughters friend for Christmas. they were such a hit, that my daughter has requested I make her one, and I made another one just as a backup! thanks for the pattern!

  17. Pingback: Wreaths, crochet, and some hand painted wood signs. | Overcoming Inertia

  18. Help I am in desperate need of assistence! I have attempted to make the two back ties about 30 times! Is there anyway you could add the directions! they are perfect and would loooove to add them to the back of the hats I made for a couple cousins of mine.
    please help me!

    • Oh, I’m sorry you’re having a trouble! I hate when I get stuck on a crochet project! I know I’m not the best at writing clear patterns, sorry for that! The back ties are basically a simple leaf pattern I had that I modified. You start with the chain, and the following stitches just go around until it is done. Does that help at all? Feel free to email me for more assistance at knitwhitt27@yahoo.com.

  19. Pingback: Ninja Turtle Hats | Say It, "Rah-shay"

  20. Thanks for the pattern!! Believe it or not my son and daughter-in-law (30ish) requested these for their family Christmas. Theirselves and two boys. Last year it was Dr. Who police box hats.

    • Sorry for the delay. The ch 3 is to give you reach so you can work on the other side without it curling up. So you you just work the stitches up one side and down the other, versus turning the work and continuing down the same side. I hope that helps and doesn’t confuse you more!

  21. Before finding your pattern and repeatcrafterme posting a pattern i wrote a basic Beanie hat pattern adding the rows in for each turtle. I am making them for adults as well as children. I am almost done with my first hat and would love to share it with you when I’m done. Writing the patterns took me longer to do then the actual hat. I’m even making the new turtle “Venus” she’s aqua if anyone wants to know

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

